Deans Council

The Five College Deans Council meets four to six times each semester with the Five College executive director and her staff. The Five College Deans have responsibility for collaboration in academic matters involving shared faculty staff, curriculum and research. They also monitor existing cooperative projects and programs and respond to all major cooperative initiatives proposed by groups of faculty members. 


Catherine Epstein, Dean of the Faculty, Amherst College

Christoph Cox, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty, Hampshire College

Dorothy Mosby, Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty, Mount Holyoke College

Michael Thurston, Provost and Dean of Faculty, Smith College

John McCarthy, Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Other academic administrative groups which coordinate intercampus collaborations

Registrars -- oversee coordination of academic calendars and cross-registration.

Librarians -- through the work of the Five College Librarians Council and ten committees, task forces and working groups, the campus libraries collaborate on joint catalog, collection development and resource management, user services (access, discovery, learning, user experience), digital stewardship, archives, and the Five College Library Repository Collection.